State Film Award 2014


>> State Film Awards 2014 Fiction  (Download PDF)


>> State Film Awards - 2014 Writings (Download PDF)


>> State Film Awards - 2014 Jury Supervision - Fiction (Download PDF)



Best Film

Jayaraj's 'Ottal'

02 padmakumar

Second Best Film

Padmakumar's  'My Life partner'


03 sanalkumar

Best Director

Sanalkumar Sasidharan for 'Oraalppokkam'

 04 nivinpauly

Best Actor
Nivin Pauly for '1983' and 'Bangalore Days'


Best Actor
Sudev Nair for 'My life Partner'

05 nazriya

Best Actress
Nazriya Nazim for 'Bangalore Days'
and 'Om Shanti Oshaana'


  06 anoopmenon

Second Best Actor
Anoop menon for  'Vikramadithyan' and '1983'

07 sethulekshmi

Second Best Actress
Sethulekshmi for 'How old Are You'

08 adwaith

Best Child Actor
Master Adwaith for 'Ankuram'



Best Child Actress

Anna Fathima for 'Randu Penkuttikal'

10 sidharthshiva

Best Story 

Sidharth Shiva for 'Ain'

11 amalneerad

Best Cinematography

Amal Neerad for 'Iyobinte Pusthakam'



12 slde

Best Screenplay (Original)

Anjali Menon for 'Bangalore Days'


13 renjith

Best Screenplay (Adaptation)

Renjth for 'Njan'


14 unnikrishnan

Best Lyricist

OS Unnikrishnan for 'La Sa Gu'


16 bijubal

Best BGM

Bijibal for various films

15 rameshnarayanan

Best Music Director

Ramesh Narayanan for 'White Boys'

Song: Aadityakiranangal

17 kjyesudas

Best Singer (Male) 

KJ Yeshudas  for 'White Boys'

Song: Aadityakiranangal


18 shreya

Best Singer (Female)

Shreya Ghoshal for 'How Old Are You'

Song: Vijanathayil 


18 lijopaul

Best Editor 

Lijo Paul for 'Om Shanti Oshaana'

20 indulalkaveedu

Best Art Director

Indulal Kaveedu for 
'Njan Ninnodukoodeyundu'

 19 jiimonjoseph

Best Live Sound

Jijimon Joseph for 'Oraalppokkam'

19 sandeepkurissri

Best Live Sound

Sandeep Kurisseri for 'Oraalppokkam'

 22 harikumar

Best Sound Mixing

Harikumar (various films)


23 thapasnayak

Best Sound Design 

Thapas Naayak for 'Iyobinte pusthakam'

25 makeup

Best Make-up Artist 

Manoj Ankamali for 'Iyobinte Pusthakam'

26 samrrera

Best Costume Designer

Sameera Saneesh for various films



Best Dubbing Artist (Male)

Harishanth for 'White Boys'

 27 vimmymariamgeorg

Best Dubbing Artist (Female)

Vimmi Mariyam George for 'Munnariyippu'


29 sajnanajam

Best Choreographer

Sajna Najam for 'Vikramadithyan'

30 alwinantony

Best Film with Popular Appeal 
and Aesthetic Value 
Alwin Antony for  'Om Shanti Oshaana'


30 judeanthany

Best Film with Popular Appeal 
and Aesthetic Value

Jude Anthany Joseph for  
'Om Shanti Oshaana'


31 abridshine

Best Debut Director

Abrid Shine for '1983'


32 deepeshankura

Best Children's Film 

'Ankuram' directed by T Deepesh

32 pradeepkandari

Best Children's Film

'Ankuram' produced by Pradeep Kandhaari





Special Jury Mention




jury prathappothen

Special Jury Award

Prathap Pothen for 'Once upon a time there
was a kallan'


jury swarasagar

Special Jury Mention

MG Swara Sagar, Singer 'Manal Chithrangal'

jury georgemathew

Special Jury Mention

Dr. George Mathew, Producer 'Appothikkiri'

Special Jury Mention Music 

Yaksaan Gyari Perera for

'Iyobinte Pusthakam'


Special Jury Mention - Music 

Neha S Nair for

'Iyobinte Pusthakam'



Special Jury Mention - Acting

Indrans for 'Appothikkiri'


Writing Section 2014





Best Book on Cinema

VK Joseph

'Athijeevanatthinte chalachitra bhashyangal'


Best Article on film

Ravi Menon 

'Shabda lokatthe ilamangaadha'


Best Article on film

KC Jayachandran

'Payalu pole pranayam'





  • Obituary - Alain Resnais

    Obituary - Alain Resnais

  • Balu Mahendra

    Balu Mahendra

  • Věra Chytilová

    Věra Chytilová

Obituary - Alain Resnais

Obituary - Alain Resnais Alain Resnais Known for his intellectual films like 'Hiroshima mon amour' and 'Mon Oncle d'Amérique', Alain Resnais breathed his last in Paris on March 1st 2014.His luminous career that lasted over six decades began in 1936 with L'Aventure de Guy, a film which was left unfinished. He was trained as a film editor but swiftly shifted to making short documentaries that varied in themes from Van Gogh to World War II. With experimental films like 'Last Year in Marienbad' he slowly found a place in the French New Wave Cinema along with Jean Luc Godard, Jacques Rivett, Éric Rohmer and François Truffaut. Loss, longing, ache and death were recurring themes in his films. With 'Night and Fog' he succeeded in creating images that would stay, sepia toned images of Nazi concentration camps that would brim up every time someone mentioned holocaust films. His 50th directorial venture 'Last of Riley' which is centered around a play rehearsal is set to be released later this month.

Balu Mahendra

Balu Mahendra Sreedevi hugging her knees and batting her eyelashes as Kamal Hasan lip-syncs Kannai Kalaimaane. Two decades later this is still one of the most heart warming melody in Indian Cinema. The film Moondram Pirai (Sadma) was directed by Balu Mahendra who passed away on Feb13th 2014 Born and brought up in Sri Lanka, Mahendra was deeply influenced by Bicycle Thieves which was screened in his school. After spending fives years as a cinematographer for acclaimed films like Nellu, Chattakaari, Makkal; Balu Mahendra debuted as a director with his Kannada film, Kokila in 1977. After which he slowly expanded his reach to other languages including Tamil, Malayalam and Hindi. Olangal based on Erich Seghal's Man, Woman and Child is a film that created a wave in Malayalam Cinema. Yathra and Oomakuyil are his other Malayalam directorial films that helped him make his mark in Malayalam films. With an amazing record of five national film awards and a handful of state awards,Balu Mahendra has also mentor...

Věra Chytilová

Věra Chytilová Vera Chytilova is a name that cannot escape your mouth if you are talking about women filmmakers. She has been an inspiration to many other women in the field as well. Born in 1929, Vera abandoned philosophy and architecture to pursue her desire to be in cinema by attending the Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague (FAMU). She released her first film, The Ceiling in 1961 but it was in 1966 with her film Daisies that she came into focus. The film that was banned in her hometown of Czech told the story of two girls, Marie I and II who struggle to unearth the ultimate truth of life. Often hailed as the militant feminist filmmaker, Vera continued to craft controversial films like The Apple Game, Pretas Story and Fuckoffguysgoodbye. After a long fight with her illness Vera Chytilova passed away on 12 March 2014. Pleasant moments which revolved around the life of psychologist who strives to strike a balance between her stressful career and her love life, was Vera Chy...
Scroll to Top